Login Form

PostHeaderIcon History

The Society was formed in 1967 by past captains of golf clubs in Nottinghamshire determined to further the interests of golf and to maintain its traditions with the aim of encouraging and aiding junior golf in Nottinghamshire.    To enable this they set about organising competitions and social functions and invited past captains from all the clubs in the County affiliated to the Nottinghamshire Union.  

The founder members set up a committee and invited Mr Frank Grierson-Peel (Newark Golf Club) to be the President and Mr A H Lethbridge (Chilwell Manor Golf Club) to be the first Captain.   Treasurer was Mr Hedley W Shipstone (Chilwell Manor Golf Club) and Secretary Mr J W (Bill) Griffiths (Radcliffe-on-Trent Golf Club).

The first Inter-Counties match initially between the Golf Captains' Societies of Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Rutland was played in 1968 for a trophy presented by Mr Alan Packer (Coxmoor Golf Club) who became Captain of the Society in 1970.   In 1971 Northamptonshire Golf Captains' Society joined and the competition became the Four Counties Meeting.

1968 also saw the first visit to Seacroft Golf Club and a cocktail party held at the club on the Saturday evening, an event that continues today.

Other early events included a Spring and Autumn Meeting, a competiton for the John Player Trophy and a Pro/Am well supported by local professionals.

By 1970 the membership had risen to 131 and at the first meeting the President's and Captain's medallions were presented to the Society by Bulwell Forest Golf Club (President's) and Chilwell Manor Golf Club (Captain's).

By the AGM in December 1972 membership had increased to over 160.   Mr Hedley Shipstone one of the founder members resigned as Treasurer and was replaced by Mr J T Duffy (Radcliffe-on-Trent Golf Club).   At this meeting the members approved the proposal to extend the membership to past captains from clubs outside Nottinghamshire affiliated to either the English or Scottish Golf Union who were current members of Nottinghamshire Golf Clubs.

In 1974 the first Captain's Day was held at Newark Golf Club when Mr H Fletcher was Captain.   They played for the S.L.R. Trophy and the first winner was Mr J A Stewart (Worksop Golf Club).   This competiton replaced the Spring Meeting.   Also inaugurated in 1974 was the President's Day replacing the Autumn Meeting.  

Members wear the Society tie at all meetings and from the AGM of 1979 all current and past Society Officers are presented with a special tie.

The initial entrance fee for membership was one guinea with an annual fee also of one guinea or a life membership of ten guineas.    Over the years this has gradually increased and at the AGM of 2004 the entry fee and annual fee were removed and membership is only available as life membership which currently stands at £50.   

Membership has increased also over the years and currently stands in excess of 500.  

History, Notts Golf, Nottinghamshire Golf, Notts Captains,Golf, Nottinghamshire Captains, Nottm Golf, Nottm Captains, Golf Captains, Golf Nottingham, NGCS

Society Calendar
October 2019
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2